MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here

58 British and Allied airmen buried in the Chièvres Communal Cemetery ( Belgium ).

Article about: Good afternoon everybody, First of all, I hope you are all doing well, and your relatives too. My name is Mehdi Schneyders, I am a coloured Belgian - South African Indian and I live in Wavre

Default 58 British and Allied airmen buried in the Chièvres Communal Cemetery ( Belgium ).

Good afternoon everybody,

First of all, I hope you are all doing well, and your relatives too.

My name is Mehdi Schneyders, I am a coloured Belgian - South African Indian and I live in Wavre ( Belgium ). Working as a cartoonist - illustrator, I am also a true R.A.F. and Commonwealth air forces’ enthusiast and, for this reason, I have been involved in the International Museum of Chièvres Air Base for the last five years, as well as in the Living History Group « Les Ailes de Chièvres », which is linked to the museum.

Along with Mister Patrick Masson ( Belgian, « Belga Reconstitution » ), another member and a true enthusiast as well, we are looking for information, documents and photographs on fifty - eight British and Allied airmen buried in the Chièvres Communal Cemetery. In doing so, we are collecting everything we can find and this is why I am posting this enquiry. We already have found many details about those airmen ( especially the five Canadians ), but nevertheless, some are still missing. Indeed, for most of them, we don’t know anything about the birth date, the birth place, the family, the background and the education as well before they joined up ( R.A.F., R.A.A.F., R.C.A.F. and R.N.Z.A.F. ). Furthermore, we are looking for scanned copies ( in 600 dpi ) of Flying Log Books ( the whole war diary, from the front cover to the back cover ), letters, documents and photographs ( still in 600 dpi, both sides ).