Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here

WW1 German dog tag

Article about: Hello everyone, what do you think, worth collecting? What websites I should visit to look for more information of the soldier? Thank you in advance.

Default WW1 German dog tag

Hello everyone, what do you think, worth collecting? What websites I should visit to look for more information of the soldier? Thank you in advance.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture WW1 German dog tag   WW1 German dog tag  

WW1 German dog tag   WW1 German dog tag  

Hi Sillu,

I’m not an expert on these but it looks like an original 1915/16 dog tag (Erkennungsmarken). I say 15/16 as this one is oval but without any split line or scoring to enable the easier snapping in two of the tag. These started to appear in late 1916. I thinks it’s a good example as the chord looks nice and original (not sure if it’s original to the tag) and the tag has some potential for research.

The following article which you should be able to find online will offer some information - “ Identity discs: The recovery and identification of First World War soldiers located during archaeological works on the former Western front”.

I’m sure that someone should be a long shortly you might be able to decipher the stampings.

Andy

Thank you Andy, it would be a good adquisition to my collection for 90€?

Quote by SilluAgain View Post
    We don’t provide valuations on the forum and I think the more important question is whether it would be a good addition to your collection. To gain an idea of what a reasonable price is, I would suggest having a look at a variety of dealer sites to get an idea of the prices being asked for the various types. For example, one with an original chord etc would generally go for more as the chords are often missing. You could try starting with a site like The Collectors Guild and go from there.