Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 13 of 14 FirstFirst ... 3 9 10 11 12 13 14 LastLast

The Evolution of the Japanese Army Steel Helmet (1918-1945) Revised and Expanded Version

Article about: The Evolution of the Japanese Army Steel Helmet (1918-1945) Prolog During the Russo-Japanese War, the army received a letter dated 28th April 1905 from a private inventor, who had the idea t

Quote by Nick
    ...Among other things, I was a Toyota-trained quality control expert as well as Kaizen-instructor,...
    Arrgghhhhh! TQM .... Demming .... Tiger Teams. ARRRRGGGGHHHHHH

For those who are blissfully ignorant: Kaizen

"Ribbons of Shame" [from movie "Gung Ho"]
    YouTube
    YouTube

(^___^)

The US Army went through this system back in the early 1990s ... along with the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator so we could learn our personalities, and the personalities of our superiors/subordinates. (NO, I will *not* tell you my MBTI type.) In the early 1980s we went through the Battalion Training Management System ... so we officers could learn how to be managers instead of leaders!

ARRRRGGGGGGHHHHHHHHH

Yes, Demming had a huge following in Japan, but not much traction in his homeland, the USA. However, the IJA documents show that they already had been practicing these things long before Demming did his seminar in Hakone.

Another of his colleagues that the Americans made into a comedy starring Steve Martin, titled "Cheaper by the Dozen" was Frank Gilbreth. The scenes of a surgeon calling out for a scappell in ER would have never happened without Frank, who introduced the caddy system to surgery.

?