Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Help with Shin Gunto

Article about: I am wonderining if I can get some help with the Shin Gunto. I am very new with WW2 Japanese Shin Guntos, but I believe it is a Type 98 Officers Sin Gunto. I also apologize for my lack termi

?

Default Help with Shin Gunto

I am wonderining if I can get some help with the Shin Gunto. I am very new with WW2 Japanese Shin Guntos, but I believe it is a Type 98 Officers Sin Gunto. I also apologize for my lack terminology of the parts of the sword.
    I got this today from the family of a US Army soldier that got this after an unknown battle in the Pacific.
    The parts are a little loose and needs tightening.
    I am also afraid to take off the handle to look for any inscriptions, because I have never done this before.
    Anyway, if you can, please let me know your thoughts. Officer? NCO? Private purchase, a family owned piece? How old?
    Also on the Saya is some sort of seal. It looks like a manufacturer stamp or maybe a family crest? It seems like Foil , paint, gold leaf?
    Also one of my mail question, Also, if you notice, it appears that there was never a catch/ lock on the Kantana and the scabbard has no signs for a catch/lock.
    Is this quite common, rare , missing parts, or some other reason? Maybe short on late war parts?
    I have read somewhere that some officers did not have catch/ locks on older fitted blades that fit securely in the scabbard. And also some did not like the catch/ lock, for it is easier and faster to draw the sword quickly without it.
    If you can give me any information, and your thoughts, I would be truly grateful.

Help with Shin GuntoHelp with Shin GuntoHelp with Shin GuntoHelp with Shin GuntoHelp with Shin GuntoHelp with Shin GuntoHelp with Shin GuntoHelp with Shin GuntoHelp with Shin GuntoHelp with Shin Gunto