Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

WOII Katana. Help discovering if Authentic and what type

Article about: Hi all, Ok, here's the deal. I have been an avid fan of katana's for a long time and own some proper katana's myself. I think I can spot a fake one but I have had no real experience with Wor

?

Hello Kevin,

I see you have recently joined the forum. Welcome.

There is no doubt that the sword you show is a rather crude Chinese reproduction. In fact they make much better examples so if you plan to collect military swords it would be best to post photos for review before spending more money.

It might also be in your best interest to start a new thread for each of your other swords and have them reviewed. Get some confirmation and peace of mind or begin the housecleaning depending upon the results.

Regards,
    Stu

Thank you all for the for the advice and tips. Not to mention the warm welcome.

Looking at some of the old bayonets that I got from my grandfather I figured that this would be rather mistreated blade. soldiers sword instead of an officers sword due to the machined blade. well..shit happens I will learn from the mistake and I will still enjoy the sword. Maybe try to "restore" it a bid. The blade should be ok with the sharpening stones that I have. It will still become a decent piece to start with and to hang against the wall. But in the future I will post before thinking of buying one

Thanks again for the help all

?

Hi Kev and welcome to the forum,

At first glance i would have agreed with the other members, however i am not entirely convinced that this is a modern chinese fake.
    Some extra pictures of the combat cover at the hanger (where it would lace up), the blade tip and the tang would help to make my decision.
    The snap button stud on the scabbard appears to a period item, not the same as on modern fakes.