Militaria Romandie - Top
Display your banner here

WW2 Japanese Katana

Article about: Hello everyone, what do you think of this katana? In my opinion, it looks legit. Is it a good piece to collect? Thank you for your responses.

Default WW2 Japanese Katana

Hello everyone, what do you think of this katana? In my opinion, it looks legit. Is it a good piece to collect? Thank you for your responses.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture WW2 Japanese Katana   WW2 Japanese Katana  

WW2 Japanese Katana   WW2 Japanese Katana  

美濃
    Mino
    • Older name for 濃州 Noshu / Gifu
    • Looks like a hint of a 関 Seki stamp just peeking out from under the seppa

氏房
    Ujifusa

安来二号
    Anrai Ni-gō
    Anrai, 2nd Artisan-name
    • Looks like he took a second art name [号, gō] of 安来 Anrai; I cannot find anything about a smith named Anrai who originally was Ujifusa. But I'm no expert!

From the Register of Names of Seki Forge Swordsmiths Since Showa 14, October [1939]
    氏房 篠田 寛 S14.10.26
    Smith name: Ujifusa
    Entered Guild/License: Showa 14 [1939] October 26

From Markus Sesko's Japanese Swordsmiths:
    UJIFUSA (氏房), Shōwa (昭和, 1926-1989), Gifu – “Ujifusa” (氏房), real name Shinoda Hiroshi (篠田寛), born May 20th 1912, student of Watanabe Kanenaga (渡辺兼永) and Katō Jumyō (加藤寿命), he worked as a guntō smith, jōkō no retsu (Akihide), Third Seat at the 6th Shinsaku Nihontō Denrankai (新作日本刀展覧会, 1941)

Also from Sesko regarding rankings:
    When it comes to gendaitō and especially WWII-era smiths, this publication includes the ranking of about 300 contemporary smiths carried out by Kurihara Akihide (栗原昭秀) in 1942 under the title Seidai Tōshō Iretsu Ichiran (聖代刀匠位列一覧). He introduced seven ranks:

• shinpin no retsu (神品の列) Supreme masterworks
    • kihin-jōi (貴品上位) Superior precious works
    • kihin no retsu (貴品の列) Precious works
    • jōko no jōi (上工の上位) Superior master
    jōkō no retsu (上工の列) Master
    • ryōkō no jōi (良工の上位) Superior skilled artisan