MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need help!

Article about: Hello Gentleman, I am new to the group and I have been very impressed with the knowledge you all have. I am a novice collector/buyer and a while back I bought some WWII German items on an on

?

Default Need help!

Hello Gentleman,
    I am new to the group and I have been very impressed with the knowledge you all have. I am a novice collector/buyer and a while back I bought some WWII German items on an online auction, I must confess I can be a little too trusting at times, and I just assumed the medals I was buying were genuine. I am embarrassed to say I'm a bit ignorant on this matter, and it never dawned on me there are fakes out there. On December 30th 2013 I had a very bad heart attack and actually died three times that day, but after 3 shocks with the paddles and two new platinum stints in my heart I am still kicking! I need to sell my items to pay for some of my medical bills, but the last thing I want to do is sell an item that maybe a reproduction, and this is where I need your help. Please take a look at my photos and give me your opinion which ones are real and which ones are not. I did a black light test on the medal ribbons and the Spanish Blue Division glowed Thank you for your feedback.

Respectfully,
    Dan W.
    Senior Chief Petty Officer
    USN Retired

Need help!Need help!Need help!Need help!Need help!Need help!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Need help!
    P
    Many

Really sorry that you need to sell your collection Dan!....

?

Hi Dan and welcome to the forum.

Sorry to hear about your medical issues but glad you are feeling better now.

I can't really comment on the Spanish medal as it is outside of my collecting area but I'm not keen based upon the quality.

The KVK1 marked for Deschler is a fake piece unfortunately. The reverse set up is wrong and the overall execution is lacking the crispness we associate with Deschler.