Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Details About SMF Reproduction Gravity Knife For New Collectors

Article about: I’m new to the site, I’ve been collecting gravity knives for just over 20 years. Thought I would share some information for new collectors about the SMF marked reproduction gravity knife

Default Details About SMF Reproduction Gravity Knife For New Collectors

I’m new to the site, I’ve been collecting gravity knives for just over 20 years. Thought I would share some information for new collectors about the SMF marked reproduction gravity knife. I did a search to see if there were any previous posts that went into detail about this particular reproduction and didn’t see one.

This reproduction has well done and I’m a proud owner of two of these. I bought the knives back in 2001-2002 time frame from the now out of business Militaria Auction House in Kansas City. The knife was advertised as a period piece, which I later discovered was not. When I purchased the reproductions there wasn't a great deal of information about their authenticity.

The knife is marked as though it is an SMF knife (makers mark on the blade, RBNr number 0019 on the marlin spike). The knife has mix of markings that are found on SMF knives and Paul Weyersberg.
    It's not just the markings that are incorrect for the knife, there are several features that are not characteristic of period pieces.

Starting with the blade here is a list of what is wrong with the knife.
    The makers mark on the blade is incorrect. The reproduction blade maker’s mark is stamped as opposed to being acid etched. Errors in the reproduction maker’s mark include incorrect font, the Kings nose is rounded where on the original it is pointed. When compared side by side you can see the differences in the king’s sword, font, and lines.
    Details About SMF Reproduction Gravity Knife  For New Collectors