Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Order of Glory

Article about: Just added this medal to my Soviet collection. Its starting to grow now so will take a group shot soon Nick

Default Order of Glory

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Order of Glory
    P
    Many

Default Order of Glory

Starting to grow a Soviet collection and just added this medal.

I will post a group shot of my Red Army collection soon

Nick
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Order of Glory   Order of Glory  

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Look forward to seeing it

Quote by robin morley View Post
    Look forward to seeing it

Me too! I have a small collection of Soviet items that began with the "know your enemy" principle whilst serving during "The Cold War" (thank the stars we are all best buddies now right?) and developed probably because of my "childish obsession with old army stuff" (guess who said that!).

I did lift the pedal somewhat on Soviet stuff because of the dire issue with fakes, as bad as TR stuff but harder to spot because of techniques still available in the East.

Anyway, your medal looks like a good 3rd class type 2 variation 2 (rotating tool engraved number). The 2nd class is the most highly faked as far as I know whis is usually done by gold plating the central medallion of a 3rd class and dicking aroung with the serial number. All easily and economically done in that part of the world. I am even aware of 1st class medals being made from scratch in gold! How can that be viable?