Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here

WW2 Arctic Star Fake?

Article about: Hello guys, i just wanted to get some opinions on this Arctic star im looking at, if its real or not, now i do understand that it has a 99% chance it's fake but im no expert on them so i was

Default WW2 Arctic Star Fake?

Hello guys, i just wanted to get some opinions on this Arctic star im looking at, if its real or not, now i do understand that it has a 99% chance it's fake but im no expert on them so i was hoping to get a more experienced opinion on it, and sadly the only photos i have of it are not good at all.
    Thanks guys!

WW2 Arctic Star Fake?WW2 Arctic Star Fake?

They are all post war made , I think they only started issuing them a few years back

Quote by kradman View Post
    They are all post war made , I think they only started issuing them a few years back
    Yes this is correct but they are still a valid campaign medal which is issued retrospectively to surviving veterans of the Arctic Convoys which theatre of operations was overlooked at the time and has been subject to protest and appeal ever since. Entitled recipients include; Royal Navy, Merchant Navy and other qualifying personnel which could include Army, Airforce and some civilians. However, the award was only approved in 2012 at which time it was estimated that there might be approx 400 surviving veterans which will naturally include a good proportion of Canadian and other commonwealth personnel. Next of kin can also claim the medal as with other British awards and an upper figure of around 500,000 medals has been mooted as a potential maximum requirement so this is always going to be a scarce medal from the start (how many will actually be claimed?). The main problem is that copies were produced at the same time as and in greater quantities than the official medals by many manufactures including the known "usual suspects" on the Indian sub-continent.