MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here

PAB in Silver EWE

Article about: Hello All! I am pretty new to the game of badges/medals. I picked up a Silver PAB made by EWE. I usually stick to helmets and daggers, but I have wanted one for a long time. To me, the EWE m

Default PAB in Silver EWE

Hello All!

I am pretty new to the game of badges/medals. I picked up a Silver PAB made by EWE. I usually stick to helmets and daggers, but I have wanted one for a long time.

To me, the EWE maker mark looks correct and it is clear that on the reverse of the badge the edges were correctly hand filed around the eagle by the maker. The gun barrel is parallel and not dropping like I have seen on other EWE fakes.

Did I get a good one or a lemon?

BTW, thank you for this thread, lots of a great info for yonger (25 years old) collectors!! Thanks!
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture PAB in Silver EWE   PAB in Silver EWE  

PAB in Silver EWE  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement PAB in Silver EWE
    P
    Many

Welcome to the forum,

I'm not a fan of this one. These EWE badges are copied to a very high standard that makes it difficult to tell sometimes by pictures alone. But the lack of more rigorous hand filing on the reverse, and the pronounced 'soft scoop' that makes it appear to have a high rear rim cause me concerns. The poor quality finish to the badges obverse side is also a bit of a red flag. It may help if you could take a couple of close up focussed shots of the reverse with the pin down, showing the toolmark on the bend at the the hinge end and also the pin tip.

I have been wrong before on these EWE badges though, so best wait for other informed replies before binning it!

Regards, Ned.
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.
    It seems a pity, but I do not think I can write more. R. SCOTT.