Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

ID ribbons/badges of Polish soldier active from 1918 to late 1940s...

Article about: Hello - I'm hoping you can help me identify the ribbons and badges of a Polish family member born in 1900, who (we think) served variously from 1918 until after the end of the Second World W

?

Default ID ribbons/badges of Polish soldier active from 1918 to late 1940s...

Hello -

I'm hoping you can help me identify the ribbons and badges of a Polish family member born in 1900, who (we think) served variously from 1918 until after the end of the Second World War. He was at one point a 'starszy sierżant dowództwo dywizji' (division command sergeant major?) and was deported to Siberia. He fought at Monte Cassino and was also a war artist with numerous works now in the Imperial War Museum in London, UK. He was part of the Polish Resettlement Corps after the War.

I am neither Polish nor military, so I have little knowledge, but a bit of Googling has got me part of the way and I'm now looking to the experts to help me fill in the gaps - and, indeed, to confirm or correct my preliminary findings!

These are the ribbons and shoulder badges, from which we've deduced:

Polish soldier (shoulder badges)
    8th (British) Army (crusader shield badge)
    Polish II Corps (Maid of Warsaw badge)
    3rd Carpathian Rifle Division (cedar on Polish flag)
    Infantry (blue/yellow collar gorget)

NB I'm not sure about the last one, as the infantry gorgets I've found online are almost entirely blue with a yellow line rather than triangle - any clues?

As for the ribbons, I'm lost as to most of them, but my best guesses so far are (using row and ribbon number):

11: Wound Decoration (wounded in three actions)

21: Cross or Medal of Independence? or possibly Great Poland Uprising Cross?
    22: unknown although NB the white ribbon is literally wrapped over the red/white one
    23: unknown