Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Looking for more information regarding my grandfather

Article about: Hi all!! I am completely new to all this! I have recently found out that my step-grandfather was in the 2nd Polish Corp during WW2 and he may be been there along with my grandfather (its com

Default Looking for more information regarding my grandfather

Hi all!!

I am completely new to all this! I have recently found out that my step-grandfather was in the 2nd Polish Corp during WW2 and he may be been there along with my grandfather (its complicated) who he met during this time. I have a number of items from my grandmother and wondered if anyone could help me find out more about him??

Thanks in advance,

Jen

Looking for more information regarding my grandfatherLooking for more information regarding my grandfatherLooking for more information regarding my grandfatherLooking for more information regarding my grandfatherLooking for more information regarding my grandfatherLooking for more information regarding my grandfatherLooking for more information regarding my grandfather

Hello Jen,

On the pictures you posted there are among others:

The ID Card (Legitymacja) of the Badge of the 65 Pomorski Batalion Piechoty (65th Pomeranian Infantry Battalion) Numbered 662/2 and the ID Card (Legitymacja) of the Badge of the 2nd Polish Corps Numbered 016494. Also the Soldier's Service and Pay Book.

Your step-grandfather was in the rank of Strzelec (Rifleman/Private) and his Army Number was: 1924-345-III.

The rest of the document you can easily translate.

I have searched in the available recodrs' databases of Tadeusz Wnęk (born 1924) but witout any luck unfortunately.

The only what I was able to find in the National Archives is that Tadeusz Wnęk obtained UK citizenship on 30th November 1976:

Looking for more information regarding my grandfather