Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Polish Medals and Badges

Article about: Hello All, I am trying to find out the medals and badges of my grandfather - I have been doing some detective work and found out some information regarding his past. However despite my effor

Default Polish Medals and Badges

Hello All,

I am trying to find out the medals and badges of my grandfather - I have been doing some detective work and found out some information regarding his past. However despite my efforts seem to have hit a wall with his medals and badges. Hoping you can help!

So here is my first image (I will post them separately to keep things neat).

Polish Medals and Badges

I apologise for the quality, they were not taken by me, but I have requested some better ones!

So far I have -
    Badge - BLANK
    Top Row = BLANK, Monte Cassino, BLANK, BLANK
    Bottom Row = BLANK, 1939-1945 Star, Africa Star, Italy Star

I am very new to military, and polish war history ( I am not from Poland so this side has been a mystery to me).

Bonus Round Badge:

Any idea what this is?

Polish Medals and Badges

Thanks all for your help! I will post more as I get them!

Hello Elkbond,

May I be the first to welcome you to the forum, with regards to your Grandfathers tunic badges and ribbons, I hope you do not mind me taking the liberty to identify them for you

The Badge is the Armoured Trains Badge for service in the UK, the badge itself should be numbered on the reverse.

With regards to your Grandfathers Ribbon Bars they are has follows:

1st Row : Wound Ribbon with 1 Star
    2nd Row : Cross of Merit with Swords ribbon (unfortunately I could not make out whether the swords are Gold, Silver or Bronze) Commemorative Cross of Monte Cassino ribbon with diagonal Monte Cassino (more commonly know as the Monte Cassino Cross), Cross of Merit ribbon, 1918-1921 War Medal ribbon.