Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Replacing an M17 internals Need help

Article about: I own an Si66 M17 camo which was pillow less but recently acquired an Si62 complete liner with pillows. My question is how do I unclamp the old leather from the size 62 band without damaging

?

Default Replacing an M17 internals Need help

I own an Si66 M17 camo which was pillow less & pad lessbut recently acquired an Si62 complete liner with pillows.
    My question is how do I unclamp the old leather from the size 62 band without damaging the frail leather.

Thank you in advance
    Last edited by olboy; 06-03-2019 at 02:49 PM.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Replacing an M17 internals Need help
    P
    Many

I'm no expert, and I'm new her. But I was told by someone who is more experienced than I, (R.E. installing original pads) to use saddle soap. It will help to soften the leather. I suppose this would help with removal as well as install.

Other than that, be very careful. A small, thin screwdriver, will open the crimp. Slowly and carefully.

Again, I'm new here. If you PM me (if that's a thing here, and I can find it) I'll try to get you in touch with him.

?

Thanks for your reply Yossarian.
    I went ahead and removed them very very carefully but unfortunately to do that I had to destroy the metal band, which I didn't want to but was left with very little choice.
    And you're right I did it with a fine screwdriver and fine point pilers.........Now the real fun begins (haha) I have to put them in a larger liner metal band.
    They came out very well and 95% of the leather strips that go under the crimp is still there but I'm going to need to make a jig of sorts to hammer the crimp back down.
    The leather is actually rabbit skin so it's still very soft so I won't need any lubricant at all to get them back in but rather advice on how to re-crimp the band they're going in.....or I'll just battle on.