Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here

Luftschutz steel buckle

Article about: Hi guys, want to hear your opinions about that buckle. I am not an expert on these, but I feel it's bad. Any thoughts?

?

Default Luftschutz steel buckle

Hi guys, want to hear your opinions about that buckle. I am not an expert on these, but I feel it's bad. Any thoughts?

Luftschutz steel buckleLuftschutz steel buckle
    Regards,
    Dimas

my Skype: warrelics

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Luftschutz steel buckle
    P
    Many

Very strange one Dimas with this buckle, unlike any Luftshutz buckles I have seen before. I dont like the ears and crimp and the prongs are not that good either. however the catch looks ok, potentially could be a late war run of one of these buckles? I wonder if David has ever seen one like this? Dont write it off as for me anyway an unknown and I have been there before and sometimes they can turn out original. In the meantime I will check my archives and this thread for other examples (when time permits)
    Ben

?

Thank you, Ben!
    Regards,
    Dimas

?

One I have never come across. Any markings under the prong bar?

This is perhaps a potentially interesting buckle and one by the design which I have always regarded as SHD (Sicherheits und Hilfsdienst) and despite the overt proclamation of “Luftschutz”.

I have before seen what could be loosely described as a similar buckle and before I start blathering on, the three quick questions of (1) is the blue paint over a base of silver grey paint, (2) does the blue paint obscure stamped markings either on the buckle lip or under the pin shroud and (3), is the SHD buckle in die stamped steel actually faked?

The buckle shown is possibly one which was unofficially modified and worn by members of the motorised LS (Luftschutz) battalions post March 1942 when then fully under the control of the Luftwaffe and in remembrance of their past service within the SHD.

This is only a suggestion.