Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

How should I go about doing this? My future in Archaeology?

Article about: Hi everyone I'm Harvey and 15 y/o, My dream is to become a battlefield archaeologist in Estonia or Latvia, anywhere really where a battle was fought during WW2 or WW1. I love history and it

Default How should I go about doing this? My future in Archaeology?

Hi everyone I'm Harvey and 15 y/o,
    My dream is to become a battlefield archaeologist in Estonia or Latvia, anywhere really where a battle was fought during WW2 or WW1. I love history and it is my passion, but my dream has an inconvenience, I'm not very good at maths or English, and the current subject in history isn't to do with war at all, so I might not do great in that either . So what qualifications do I need to be able to become a battlefield archaeologist. And how do I go about it? Any help is appreciated guys.
    Over and out

Hi Harvey, I would of thought this is not easy at all- there must be very few people who earn a living as a battlefield archaeologist. But I would certainly think you would need to be doing well at history at school, and going on to study archaeology at university. You may need to do further post graduate study beyond that. In the meantime you could also be looking to do unpaid work experience in museums.

I could do, that would help me a lot and look good on my CV, what about volunteering to do digs, and have a full time job as well, is that possible?

?

Finish secondary school.

Go to University and study Archeology. Then apply that knowledge to military history and known battlefields.

Learn what the laws are in the countries where you decide to work in and apply for any necessary permits to dig.

Associate and communicate with those in the fields of your interest.

Always be honest with those that you deal with but be aware there are always dishonest folks about.