Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

98k bayonet made by E.u.F. Hörster

Article about: Greetings, I recently acquired a 98k bayonet, and am quite pleased with it, yet I would appreciate any remarks or observations about its qualities. The most important for me would be origina

Default 98k bayonet made by E.u.F. Hörster

Greetings, I recently acquired a 98k bayonet, and am very pleased with it, yet I would appreciate any remarks or observations about its qualities; the most important would be originality, matching parts, and that it hasn't been messed around with post-war.

I'm not experienced with bayonets at all, but sought one to assemble the early war field equipment of an Infantryman. Hoping this is a one and done textbook example.

My phone camera would not do the details justice; therefore I will include the high quality photos provided from the dealer.

Virtual Grenadier

98k bayonet made by E.u.F. Hörster

Any help would be greatly appreciated; I'm always grateful for an education, thank you.
    Last edited by Larry C; 10-20-2023 at 04:15 AM.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement 98k bayonet made by E.u.F. Hörster
    P
    Many

?

Your bayonet is normal S84/98 made by Hoerster in 1937, the condition is ok, well worn, the blueing is still remained on blade, matching is good with scabbard, the frog should be LW type, but there was periodly added the secure strap. the front part was blackened.

Quote by AndyB View Post
    Your bayonet is normal S84/98 made by Hoerster in 1937, the condition is ok, well worn, the blueing is still remained on blade, matching is good with scabbard, the frog should be LW type, but there was periodly added the secure strap. the front part was blackened.
    Thank you very much, I appreciate your observations.

May I ask what is a LW type frog? Why would the front part be blackened?

?