Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

SS Dagger 1934(?) Real and correct year?

Article about: Hello, I´ve gotten some pictures of an SS Dagger for sale. It´s claimed to be a model 1934 and an officer dagger. I hope I could get some help by you guys to determine if it´s worth the m

Default SS Dagger 1934(?) Real and correct year?

Hello,

I´ve gotten some pictures of an SS Dagger for sale. It´s claimed to be a model 1934 and an officer dagger. I hope I could get some help by you guys to determine if it´s worth the money, because I am a beginner.

As far as I know this is not an officer´s dagger (did they have special daggers?). It looks like the Model 33 in my eyes.

This is how I think:
    - the blade looks genuine and in good shape, some scratches but nothing bad. Maybe too good shape? The mark seems correct. Some oxidization can be seen at the close-up on the mark. Between the blade and upper crossguard there is this black space in the mark picture. Cant tell if its shadow or a misfit.
    - the upper crossguard does not have a stamp. Tells me this is a later plated crossguard.
    - The crossguards seem to match the scabbard in color.
    - the handle have scratches and is a bit worn but looks genuine to me. The eagle and sharp edges tells me it is a later dagger.
    - the scabbard looks like beeing in good shape. If I zoom in I can see marks from wearing and maybe oxidization. Cant tell if the blade fits as it should.

What do you think? All parts genuine? To me it looks like a beautiful dagger, maybe too beautiful...
    What 'year model' is this dagger?
    Is it an officer´s dagger as proposed?
    Is it usual with later daggers that doesn´t have RZM stamp?

Havent got any more pics at the moment, but I hope the resolution stays the same at uploading.

I really appreciate your help to determine if it is totally real, partially real or fake.
    Thank you!

2. # ADS