Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Taking care of your SS dagger?

Article about: Hi all! As you might have noticed I am a newbie to the SS dagger business and to this excellent forum. I just recently bought my first SS dagger and after having fondled it a little I began

Default Taking care of your SS dagger?

Hi all!

As you might have noticed I am a newbie to the SS dagger business and to this excellent forum. I just recently bought my first SS dagger and after having fondled it a little I began to think about how to take care of my new "baby" so my handling of it won't deteriorate it's condition.

I read in one post that touching the blade with your fingers is a big no-no, is that they way most of you see it? Should one wear thin gloves when dealing with it perhaps?

Would you treat the blade with some kind of oil or similair product?

Storage, temperature, humidity etc?

I mean, we are really dealing with one of a kind historical artifact here, you wouldn't want to mess it up due to poor knowledge…

Thanks and sorry for my many newbie questions!

Martin

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Taking care of your SS dagger?
    P
    Many

Martin,

Some great questions and congratulations on the purchase of your SS dagger. There will be much advise and suggestion given to you from the field of individuals but I will tell you this..

I am a museum curator at a US Army Museum. We have been educated on the dangers of mishandling artifacts and the long term affects of that mishandling so I will suggest to you that although you may enjoy your new found treasure.. do it with care and caution.