Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Skull 499/41

Article about: Hello, is it possible to have your opinion on this 499/41? Thank you. Regards.

Here is one I have mounted to the WSS officers visor. I am still learning about these insignia but what I see is what looks like a strike error, the line from the nasal cavity to just above the top of the teeth. It also looks like the nasal cavity die is striking just to the right of the unfinished nasal opening at the time the die struck the Totenkopf.

I though what I have shown to be 100% aluminum, not copper with electroplated aluminum finish. Am I wrong with that assumption?

Both the SS Adler and Totenkopf together on the visor. And these are Cupal?

Thank you for this thread, I am learning new things on these collectibles nearly everyday and that's after 60+ years being around these collectibles.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Skull 499/41   Skull 499/41  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Skull 499/41
    P
    Many

Dos
    ?

Quote by another ant View Post
    you are right Dos.
    My fault,
    but I hope we have gotten something positive out of this mistake and have understood the differences between the copper-aluminum-copper skulls and eagles and the aluminum-copper skulls and eagles.

Aldo you explain it much more clearly than me, IMO ,thanks.
    No problem. The most important thing is to keep everything correct for future reference, and correct each other where necessary. Everyone makes mistakes... Including me. We as collectors can learn much from each other. The existence of an aluminum base with copper layers on both sides with on top of that silver wash.. is something that was new to me in the world of SS Insignia. Not often seen!!

Quote by another ant View Post
    A simple answer without details but 100% correct to your question Aldo is

"Quote by Dos