Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast

What color brown was the original SA/SS brownshirt?

Article about: I'm looking for information on the original SA brownshirt aka the (Rossbach bought) 'Lettow Shirt' (1924-1929c) It was worn by Hitler, Hess, Himmler and many others attending the 1927 Reichs

I write this because I am a professional historian with decades of experience, and one of the major recent biographies of Hitler's First World War experience essentially
    demolishes the normal account of his war years, and so forth. There are many new biographies of leading SS personalities, or of early SS units, i.e. the Wiener
    Standarten, etc. with perfect archival research, which demolish many received accounts and so forth. That is how history works.

I can suggest some books for you to read, but they are all in German. The Weber biography of Hitler is in English, though.What color brown was the original SA/SS brownshirt?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement What color brown was the original SA/SS brownshirt?
    P
    Many

[QUOTE=Wilhelm Saris;1712692]In ultimate 1926 the SA-shirt already was noted to be "das Braunhemd"
    in orders, known as SA-Befehl (SABE 10 and 12: November 12 and 14, 1926).
    A color shade was not mentioned. "

Here's the shirt you cite from just a few months earlier in Weimar 1926 July

SA men? and others wearing the shirt, while Hitler wears a windbreaker jacket (similar to the pre putsch 1923 SA uniform)

"With the introduction of the collar-patches the buttons at the collar (or shoulder)
    were to be removed and over this one had to position the patch. If you look well
    with the photos shown with the first posts you can also see the buttons at the
    shoulder-section
    . The cut of the collar was not in the right angle and so collar-patches
    had to be sewn on in the best way. "