Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Need Help. M35 DD lufty, overpaint

Article about: Hi everyone. I came across this M35 DD Luftwaffe with a decent looking liner band still in it. It's advertised on the Dutch version of Ebay. What bothers me is that this helmet apparently wa

Default Need Help. M35 DD lufty, overpaint

Hi everyone.

I came across this M35 DD Luftwaffe with a decent looking liner band still in it. It's advertised on the Dutch version of Ebay.

What bothers me is that this helmet apparently was overpainted at least two times, including once with a strange tan/brown line and the decals are barely visible.

I have some general knowledge of these but I'm by far not expert so i would appreciate it very much if any of you chime in on this one.

Pics are courtesy of the seller.. So the quality is not great.

Thanks in advance for your opionion.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Need Help. M35 DD lufty, overpaint
    P
    Many

An interesting helmet but a shame the images are not in hi res as it’s hard to see more detail. Looks like an original M35 with some original Luftwaffe blue/grey paint remaining on the shell followed buy a rough overpaint. The manufacturers stamp in the rear is odd as it looks like a single “E” with the numbers being 43 OR 48? No idea what is going on with these numbers. The font of the E is similar to that of the E of the EF factory (Emaillerwerke, Fulda). Perhaps a light stamp or fault but being an M35 and not a late war manufacture I would have thought these sorts of issues would be rare. Quite the anomaly.

It does look like the helmet may have received a dark overpaint at some point which the shell being heavily scrubbed post war. Nothing too unusual about it receiving a rough overpaint. You would really need much clearer hi res photos to know what’s going on with this helmet with regards to the green/yellow pain but at the very least it has been messed with a lot post war.

Andy

Quote by AndyM35 View Post