Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

NKVD border guard

Article about: I just picked up what I believe is a M-43 NKVD border guards gymnasterka. If I am wrong please correct me. I am new to collecting uniforms so any help would be great. Where would the stamp b

Default NKVD border guard

I just picked up what I believe is a M-43 NKVD border guards gymnasterka. If I am wrong please correct me. I am new to collecting uniforms so any help would be great.

Where would the stamp be? What is the proper way to store it? Does anybody know what the cloth badge means? NKVD seems very hard to research sometimes. Any reference pics would be great. Thanks for looking!

If you need more pics let me know.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture NKVD border guard   NKVD border guard  

NKVD border guard  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement NKVD border guard
    P
    Many

Default Re: NKVD border guard

inside pics. I cannot find stamp. What is the common area?
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture NKVD border guard   NKVD border guard  

More images needed in any case - preferably in natural light:

1- The reverse of the shoulder-boards. BTW, Are the stars silvered or gilt?.

2- The reverse of the buttons. Not to find a date stamping, as this has to be the most inaccurate method of dating a uniform because buttons can be changed very easily, but to determine what type they are.

3- The inside of the pocket flaps and the pockets themselves - turn the gymnasterka inside-out to photograph the latter...

Whatever with date stampings, more often than not, they are non-existent on wartime M43 gymnasterka and examples made well into the late 40s and even early 50s...

The "cloth patches" are referred to as "WOUND STRIPES". Yellow for a heavy wound, red for a lighter wound. These also are able to be added easily to make an item more "saleable"...