Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Pogony M 43

Article about: Hi guy's , what do you think about this German made ?? Thanks in advance

ASR
    ?

I think this is just a manufacturer's variation... I am no expert on Bulgarian boards... But the one I have examined are narrower than the Russian ones and usually having being six-sided, even for other ranks. Mine (same than his example) are standard RKKA measure. look at the article, I find some broad holes for bottom shanks also.

I think also that all the thread gravitates around the same point: The traits of wartime RKKA pogoni against foreign manufacture.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Pogony M 43
    P
    Many

ASR
    ?

One important thing: most examples classed as foreign manufature are unissued... even those in the article, and apparently a short size (maybe 15). What do ither members think?

When I say Bulgaria, I do not know if they were used a short time postwar for the new Communist Bulgarian army or if made in Bulgaria for the Soviet Union. I mention this because for several years there has been several sellers on ebay, based in Bulgaria, that regularly offer 5-sided M43 style boards. They are in the standard Red Army service color combination, but the materials are different than most all Soviet manufactured boards I have seen and are not obviously German either. Regardless, most have the nice die cut hole for the button shanks in both the board proper and the reverse strap.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Pogony M 43   Pogony M 43  

Yo Mike!

I've seen the listings by those Bulgarian "from a private collection" sellers. Either they are pushing authentic Bulgarian boards as Soviet, or they are just repro Soviet boards, like the ones shown above.

In my opinion of course...
    Non nobis, Domine, non nobis, sed nomini tuo da gloriam!

Quote by RichieC View Post
    Yo Mike!