Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

WW2 Essex Home Guard Uniform - thoughts?

Article about: G'day folks, I am not an expert on British Battledress, but have a question regarding a Home Guard uniform that I have owned for some time. How it wound up in Australia, I have no idea. Ther

Default WW2 Essex Home Guard Uniform - thoughts?

G'day folks,
    I am not an expert on British Battledress, but have a question regarding a Home Guard uniform that I have owned for some time. How it wound up in Australia, I have no idea.

There are no War Department stamps, nor internal labels. The uniform has a degree of thinning/mothing so has age and 'feels' / smells right to me. The only tag is a small hand sewn label near the collar which is cross-stitched on with the numerals 44400 on it. Has anyone seen a jacket like this? The buttons look like bakelite and it feels like an economy-style jacket that I would expect the Home Guard to have access to. The orange paper tag (with safety pin) near the collar is a dry-cleaning tag as I had it cleaned recently to get rid of any moth larvae.

The pistol lanyard was added by me, so was not with the jacket. It's of the period and I had no other appropriate uniforms to attach it too...yes, I appreciate a HG member was more likely to have a pitch fork ;-)

Everyone I've shown it to liked it from the outside but as soon as they saw their was no label inside has written it off. Happy to hear your thoughts if you've got some experience in this area.

Thanks in advance,
    Jim