Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

US M1 liner unknown to me, an original?

Article about: Hi mates, I discovered some helmets from the remains of an abandoned helmet collection in the sales area of a German militaria forum, which I bought ("on suspicion") because I wasn

I'm no expert, Roland, but I'd concur that it's a 6901st or 6941st LSF liner, although it looks hand-painted - other versions I've seen look like decals. I believe the 3 star (I think it was called the cognac, or brandy badge, after the 3 stars on a Courvoisier bottle) pre-dated the 'German' version. To find out more, I recommend looking at offizielle Homesite des 6941st Guard Battalion - Start, run by Lutz Griesbach, and he's helped with my research.US M1 liner unknown to me, an original?

I was looking through some of the old Berlin Observer Newspapers and found one that talks about the 6941st Guard Battalion in Berlin. There is a great image of one of the Sergeants wearing a helmet liner with the image that started this post. Albeit this is most likely a decal and not a painted one but here is some more great information.

This brought back some wonderful memories of my time stationed in Berlin..

http://www.theberlinobserver.com/arc..._N34_aug26.pdf

Smitty

HereĀ“s another Westinghouse - CAPAC liner.
    A 51/52/53 CAPAC liner with black painted metal parts.
    The rough surface is matt olive, "grained".

I don't know what the painted white star means.
    But I don't want to scratch around trying to get it off because I'm afraid of damaging the liner.

Otherwise, the liner is in a used condition and should still be worth collecting, right?

Maybe one of your colleagues can also provide further information about this liner?

Colleague Sleepwalker once wrote:
    "51/52 CAPAC liners still have olive painted metal parts.
    51/52/53 liners have black painted metal parts."