Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

French M78/F1 steel helmet

Article about: Hello everyone, I've had an account on here for a while, but this is my first time posting on the forum. I recently started to collect helmets from other countries besides the US and wanted

Default French M78/F1 steel helmet

Hello everyone,

I've had an account on here for a while, but this is my first time posting on the forum. I recently started to collect helmets from other countries besides the US and wanted to know your thoughts on this one. I just bought this French F1 helmet on Ebay. It's dated 1979 and is named to a Sgt Legall with his blood type. The only thing I know about these helmets is from the little I've read about them online. Im also wondering if anyone knows why it's painted blue on the outside? Most of the ones I've seen are all green.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture French M78/F1 steel helmet   French M78/F1 steel helmet  

French M78/F1 steel helmet   French M78/F1 steel helmet  

Last edited by Jenkum117; 01-08-2020 at 08:54 AM.

Blue for helmets used in UN service.

Cheers,
    Emile

Next you need the arid/desert cover....and the goggles of course.....

Thanks for the info. I wasn't sure if it was UN or French police since I heard they used these helmets too.

Do you know where I can find a arid/desert cover and a pair of goggles?

Great Example and i agree with Emile ,Light Blue for UN Peace keeping ,Dark Blue for Gendarmerie ( Police ) which are a branch of the French Armed forces.
    You Might be interested in Viewing one of a few existing threads on this Model Type More French F1 Helmets. French M78/F1 Lègion Etrangère
    Regards James

Hello Very nice early F1 in very good condition. You will need to keep it like this and remove the cover.
    This type of cover can only be used with the second model of F1.

Early F1 would have the "salade" cover.