Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Italian M33 helmet identification

Article about: Hello Need some opinion about this helmet. It is obviously an Italian M33. The colour looks like grey-green pre-war type, as well as the rivets. My concern is the liner. I have strong doubts

Default Italian M33 helmet identification

Hello
    Need some opinion about this helmet.

It is obviously an Italian M33. The colour looks like grey-green pre-war type, as well as the rivets.
    My concern is the liner. I have strong doubts it matches the helmet.
    It looks too white, etc.

Italian M33 helmet identificationItalian M33 helmet identificationItalian M33 helmet identificationItalian M33 helmet identificationItalian M33 helmet identificationItalian M33 helmet identification

Can anybody comment anything in this regard?

Thank you
    Alexey

Interesting. I am not an expert on the M933, but I do have a couple and have read a fair amount about it. The liner looks good to me in all ways (I have one with almost the same colour leather) except for the fact that there is no sewn joint for the rear of the liner. This should be done in either a 'Z' shape (most of them so far as I can see) or two parallel lines like the '=' sign. An open joint like that seems unusual, but does not, I suppose, mean it is not a real liner. Things go wrong in factories.

One question - is there a little circular leather patch on the underside of the liner lobes where the adjustment lop goes through? That should be there, and would reinforce my feeling it iis a real one. I hope a real M933 expert comes along in a minute, and perhaps we will both learn something new.

Paint looks period (pre-war). The liner from the bit I know, if the liner fingers do not have metal grommets for the tie string, it's early. In that case, I believe it should have the parallel stitching in the rear as stated by Greg, which also is a feature of an early issue.
    D.