Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here

Swedish M21 helmet with green decals?

Article about: Hello guys, Ive stumbled upon this swedish made M21 helmet and while Im still learning about the subject to my understanding the M21 helmet was fitted with blue three crown decals on each si

Default Swedish M21 helmet with green decals?

Hello guys,

Ive stumbled upon this swedish made M21 helmet and while Im still learning about the subject to my understanding the M21 helmet was fitted with blue three crown decals on each side during WWII as identification. The helmet Ive got however is fitted with green decals on each side.
    You can see traces of the blue decal underneath tho. I have never seen these green decals, is there any one out there who has seen these before? Also the helmets paint is chipped in a lot of places and you can see a brighter color underneath. Is this some sort of primer or were the M21 helmets at one point repainted during their service life?

Also, if this was some original color underneath, would you try removing the newer paint to get an older version of the helmet or just leave it be?

Thanks a lot,

Bartimaerus

This is interesting! I am a fan of all Swedish helmets but I have never taken much notice of the decals (or the helmet covers...) so this is a New Thing for me. I have never noticed any colour variation in either books and articles covering these helmets or in my own collection, and would probably have put it down to manufacturing variations or colour-change through time and weathering.

But your seems quite distinctly *green* so I started a but of fact-checking. The most useful so far has been the World War Helmets site (World War Helmets - Casque Modele 21 ) where they show the attached with the note which might (maybe) explain things -

You can see (well, I can anyway, it might be just me) that one of the versions - third from left - has a distinctly green tinge.